RSS

Forgive me, I’m allergic to overloaded plot lines.

30 Aug

I said I was going to update weekly, right? Woops.
I feel like I just came up for a breath of fresh air for the first time in two weeks. I’ve even been too busy to make myself proper meals most days. I really need to change that. I could just make myself a sandwich, but I’m cutting bread out of my diet; maybe permanently. I’ve been feeling sick lately, and I realized I’d been overloading on bread products. As soon as I stopped eating those — significantly better. Ate a graham cracker yesterday and felt icky again. So.. gluten allergy? Who knows. I’m really sad though, ’cause I love bread!

Which, coincidentally, brings me to my writing topic for the day.

No, I’m not going to be talking about the bread. What  I want to talk about are those scenes or lines we want to put into a story when they JUST DON’T WORK. Sure, it’s cool, it’s funny and it’s an epic line but does it really fit in that story? You might look at it and grin, but you’re reader is going to say, “Something’s off here.”

They might not know what it is, but they will know that something is keeping them from fully enjoying the story. On the other hand they might say, “What the heck? Why would [character’s name] do that when on page 37 he clearly…” You can’t throw a joke in where it doesn’t belong, and you can’t throw in a scene or line that doesn’t mesh with the rest of the plot line or the characters.

If you really like that line or idea, it can go in another story. I’m not saying that you should highlight it and hit delete. Instead, save it in a separate document. Have a whole document dedicated to those things that are too good to throw away but won’t fit in anything that you’re currently working on.

That’s it for today. Let me know if you like my posts, hate them or you’re indifferent. Whatever. And, if anyone has any good, quick recipes that are gluten free please share.

Eat. Sleep. Read. Write.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 30, 2012 in Life, Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
